as the country's sixth largest province, Quezon abounds
with numerous potential and exiting tourist attractions.
nearest town of Quezon from Manila is Tiaong, which is
only about one hour and 3 minutes away over good road.
The town will most likely awe its visitors with its attractions,
both developed (Villa Excudero) and almost untouched
Lake). The mystical Mt. Banahaw continues to attract not
only pilgrims but curious travelers as well. Farther down
south, one can have a choice between the forest of Quezon
National Park and the beaches of the coastal towns which
dot the province.
relatively short distance between Quezon and Metro Manila
should make the attractions in the province more feasible
for tourism, specially for the towns which are located
in the western part. Because Quezon is also part of the
route to the Bicol Region both by bus and by train, its
towns which serve as stop-over points for the travelers
can benefit much in terms of revenue generated by accommodation
and dining establisments.
history. Quezon was at one time under the jurisdiction
of various provinces. In 1585, the central protion was
divided between Laguna and Nueva Ecija, while the other
portion was divided between the provinces of Mindoro,
Marinduque and Camarines.
1591, Tayabas was created into a province under the name
of Kalilayan. On March 12, 1902, the civil government
was established in Tayabas with Lucena as its capital.
On June 12, 1902, the district of Principe, formerly under
Nueva Ecija, and the district of Infanta, including Polillo
which was under Laguna, were annexed to Tayabas. On September
7, 1946, Tayabas was renamed Quezon Province.
Bridge (Tayabas). It is considered to be the oldest one
in the town which was built by the Spanish colonizers.
However, it is not very clear if it was constructed before
or after the town church which was built in 1585.
San Diego (Spanish Fort). Located at the town proper of
Gumaca near the pear. The only remaining structure built
under the supervision of Franciscan priests during the
later part of the 18th Century. It was erected to help
guard the town against sea pirates who may invade the
Bantay Watchtower (Atimonan town proper). It was built
by the Spanish authorities as a watchtower to warn the
townsfolk of Atimonan of impending attack of pirates from
Antonio de Alcala Park (Maharlika Highway, Gumaca). The
park features a promenade area facing Lamon Bay and the
neighboring island of Alabat.
Yaman Ng Quezon Museum (Provincial Health Building, Capitol
Compound, Lucena City.) The museum houses a collection
of the memorabilia of former president Manuel L. Quezon.
A large section of the museum contains the personal belongings
of the former prominent people of the province.
Cristina Park (Maharlika Highway, Atimonan). It is a promenade
park with an area of 200 sq. meters built along the Lamon
Bay area of the town of Atimonan.
Park (Capitol Site, Lucena City). It is seven hectares
of fully-developed and well-maintained area located at
the heart of the provincial capital. It features a children's
playground, beautifully landscaped garden, and man-made
Dumagat Settlement (Sitio. Malatunglan, Gen. Nakar). It
is an established Dumagat Settlement under the auspices
of the Catholic Church and the local government of Gen.
Nakar. There are about 22 families in the area.
instructors also educate the Dumagat people in a school
Pahiyas sa Lucban, Quezon - A colorful
festival highlighted by the procession of San Isidro Labrador.
The people of this picturesque town decorates their houses
with crafts such as kiping, hats and suman as a thanksgiving
to the patron Saint for countless blessings and bountiful
Escudero | Club
Manila East - Pacific | Back to Top