Contact Us
Century International Hotels



Singapore Tourism Board & Lolo Mao launch Chinese New Year promotion
Source: Manila Bulletin
Author: Jaser A. Marasigan
Date: 2003-01-31
To usher in the Year of the Goat, Lolo Mao Singapore Sidewalk Cuisine and the Singapore Tourism Board (STB) launched recently a special promotion dubbed “Toss to your Good Luck in Singapore”, which will run until Feb. 15.

Diners will get a chance to win the grand prize of a 4-day/3-night trip to Singapore for two via Singapore Airlines, including round-trip tickets and hotel accommodations with breakfast. For every R588 worth of food purchase, which includes the Yu Sheng Salad (a colorful salad of smoked salmon and crunchy vegetables), diners will get a red packet containing a raffle coupon which might give them a chance to win either the grand prize or be one of the 100 consolation prize winners. Draw date is slated on Feb. 18.

The Yu Sheng Salad is considered a staple in any Chinese New Year feast. It is served in most Singaporean Chinese restaurants throughout the Lunar New Year celebrations.

Besides its full flavor and texture, Yu Sheng is also loaded with symbolic meaning. The raw ingredients signify the renewal of life, and the sound of the word fish or “Yu”, sounds like the word for riches or abundance.

The most important and “fun” part of eating Yu Sheng is the mixing of ingredients. To ensure good luck for the coming new year, everyone calls out “Lo hei!”, which means “to mix it up” or “to prosper more”, while they use their chopsticks to toss the ingredients in the air, as high as they can, never mind if it spills. The higher the toss, the better the luck.

Lolo Mao Singapore Sidewalk Cuisine is located at Crossroad Arcade in Greenhills and at the 5th level of The Podium in Ortigas Center. It serves authentic Singapore hawker-style food like Baby Squid, Hainanese Chicken with rice, Hokkien Mee, Singapore Chili Crab, Indonesian Rendang and Indian Mee Goreng, among others. (Jaser A. Marasigan)


Indonesia Thailand USA Europe Canada Hong Kong Philippines